Here Are 5 Renowned Mathematicians In The Modern World

Jyotis - Apr 25, 2019

Here Are 5 Renowned Mathematicians In The Modern World

Who are they? Where do they come from? What do they contribute to the mathematics world? Take a quick look at the below list.

Anyone in the list of these following mathematicians certainly deserves to get our respect. Some celebrities like Srinivasa Ramanujan, Isaac Newton, or Stephen Hawking must be too familiar with us. However, in the article, the writer will introduce the other 5 mathematicians in the modern world you may not know.

Who are they? Where do they come from? What do they contribute to the mathematics world? Take a quick look at the below list.

1. Sir Michael Francis Atiyah

Sir Michael Francis Atiyah

The British-Lebanese mathematician was born in 1929 and just passed away in 2019. Although he grew up in Egypt and Sudan, he spent most of his life living and working in the United Kingdom and the United States. He got a lot of achievements in geometry. Atiyah was in partnership with Isadore Singer – a renowned American mathematician to build the Atiyah-Singer index theorem.

For all of his life, Sir Michael Atiyah had a variety of contributions in the development of geometry. He won the Berwick Prize for the first time when he was just 32 years old. In 1966, he got the Fields Medal and within two years later, he was awarded the Royal Medal. In addition, he won many other awards including De Morgan Medal (1980), Copley Medal (1988), and Abel Prize (2004).

2. Wendelin Werner

Wendelin Werner

Wendelin was born in Germany in 1968, and then moved to France when he was just 9 months old. In 1993, he got a Doctorate from the Université Pierre-et-Marie-Curie. Similar to other mathematicians in the list, Wendelin has received many awards for what he has worked in the mathematics field. Among those awards, he won the Davidson Prize and EMS Prize in 1998 and 2000, respectively. Also, Wendelin won a lot of various prizes such as Fermat Prize (2001), Grand Prix Jacques Herbrand (2003), and Heinz Gumin Prize (2016).

3. Robert Langlands

Robert Langlands 1

Many may hear about a kind of program called Langlands that is developed by the genius mathematician Robert Langlands. He was born in New Westminster, in 1936. The man from Canada got the first degree at the University of British Columbia and only one year after that, he received his masters at the same university.

In 1960, he continued his studying career at the Yale University and got his Doctor of Philosophy at the school. After developing the Langland program, the talented mathematician received a lot of considerable awards. In 1996, he and Sir Andrew Wiles received the Wolf Prize. In 2005, he got the Steele Prize. In 2018, Langlands was awarded the Abel Prize for his contributions in math. In addition, he was recognized for a variety of different contributions and awards.

4. Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov

Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov

Among the most popular modern mathematicians in the world, the Russian mathematician has contributed a lot for the geometric field. In some other aspects of math like theories, we can also see his sign. He was born in Boksitogorsk, the Soviet Union in 1943. Mikhail Gromov starts his passion for math at just 9. He got a Doctorate in 1969 and four years later, he was first awarded for his contribution. Until now, Gromov has kept working in many different aspects of the mathematics field.

5. Stanislav Konstantinovich Smirnov

Stanislav Smirnov

Stanislav Smirnov will be the name to complete this list of 5 renowned mathematicians in the modern world. In spite of his youth, he is still among the most outstanding mathematicians during the history of mathematics. The Russian man was born in 1970 and has now worked for the University of Geneva. Stanislav earned a Ph.D. at the California Institute of Technology in 1996.

He is well-known for his contributions in sophisticated analysis, probability theory, and dynamic systems. He won the Saint Petersburg Mathematical Society Award in 1997, the Clay Research Award, Salem Prize and the Goran Gustafsson Prize in 2001, and many other awards. Stanislav had a great year in 2010 when he was awarded the Field Medal for his percolation theory.


Sort by Newest | Popular

Next Story